The Art of Wine🍷🍾

It’s been approximately 4 months and my taste buds are just one of the things that have evolved and changed for the better. I mean, being the food lover that I am, your taste buds mean everything. It’s one of your major tools needed to experience this life that is full of flavor. It’s like a singer who relies on their voice. Dare to imagine a life where you taste buds are all kinds of messed up or just don’t function. You might as well just give up on life. (I am definitely exaggerating)

Being here in the rainbow nation and living in the land surrounded by vineyards of the Cape Winelands (Stellenbosch), a glass of wine a day is as normal as taking my daily vitamins. Ever since I joined the world of alcohol consumption, I have always fancied the art of drinking wine and being knowledgeable about it. The type of sophistication and class that wine culture brings about is literally my aspirations. Well lord and behold, my wish finally came true hence my blog post for today.

Wine tasting for me has become my newest hobby. Not only is it very affordable here in SA but the atmosphere that it comes with is just relaxing and very calming. Learning the art of wine from tasting, to pairing it, is no different than learning to really appreciate music or art. It takes time and effort to understand wine and even training your pallet to enjoy the different kinds of wine. Being able to break down the different dynamics of wine from the aroma to the diverse aspect of the taste that it comes with, also takes time.

I never used to drink wine as much. In all reality, the only wine that I used to drink was white Moscato brands or anything that was predominantly sweet. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. In fact, as I preferably like to say now, those kind of wines are the entry levels to joining the wine society. Especially if you fancy the art of winery like I do.

Living in Stellenbosch has been a wine education boot camp for me. Stellenbosch which is well known for its viticulture (the science, production, and study of grapes in a vineyard) is one of the larger two main wine growing regions in South Africa. The South African wine industry itself produces about 1,000,000,000 liters of wine annually. It honestly can’t get any better than that.


In no way am I trying to say that I am a wine expert but I have learned quite a few basics. Pairing wine and food, how to swirl wine in a glass, and the difference between taste vs. flavor. Initially, red wine was never an option for me as well as any wine that was typically dry but now I am able to enjoy any kind of wine. Of course I do have some dislikes with certain flavors of wines but it is not like before where I couldn’t handle drinking specific wines.​

​Part of me also believes that when it comes to wine, one has to acquire the taste of it gradually over time. Just like how you would never eat some foods when you were younger but as you grow older, you start eating them. Some people are just not wine fanatics whatsoever and that’s perfectly fine. The same way I am not a big fan of beer.🍻🍺​

​As my time here winds up. I will continue visiting wine tasting farms and enjoy this new hobby to the fullest. We all know back at home, wine tasting can be quite expensive.

One thought on “The Art of Wine🍷🍾

  1. Hey victor congratulations for finishing your program…..don’t forget to bring some of the tasty wines over here especially the famous South African amarula for x-mas celebrations

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

