It’s funny how just three weeks ago I was literally working at drive through McDonald’s, not knowing I will be half way accross the world hiking and being surrounded by magnificent views. 


Like everything is still so surreal to me that it somehow feels like a dream. Yesterday I got the opportunity to hike Mt Stellenbosch.  Those who live, work or study in Stellenbosch know that all mountains dominate the town and are visible from almost anywhere. 

If am not wrong ( still trying to figure out the geography), this is the same mountain that I get to see from my bedroom window which I posted  in one of my last blogs. From the first day I saw it , I have daydreamed about being up there. 


Anyways, yesterday after sleeping in most of the day, I decided that my unfit self should take on the challenge. At first it wasn’t the best idea but once I got half way to the top, it all became worth it. 

Not to intimidate you, but the trails are not really safe and guided so it is encouraged to hike at your own risk. For those who have fallen under the spell of the new PokΓ©mon game, I strongly suggest do not try to play while your hiking. 

​​
It took me about 4 hours to get to my desired point and back. That also included rest stops, sight seeing, snap chatting and most importantly photoshoot sessions. 

​​Not sure if you can already tell by now that I am not really the adventurous type, so I wasn’t really aiming to get to the summit.  But as you can see from the photos it was well worth it.  


I bet your wondering how someone like me who’s a little on the heavier side did it. I mean, it was a bit of a struggle but don’t be fooled because I still got the African genes in me and they did come in handy. 

​​
I guess in a way being able to live  in Vermont during school, I have had my share of hiking which was all along preparing me.

Am still kind of sore from the hike but definitely looking forward to hiking the next mountain. Hope fully this time I will make to the peak. πŸŒπŸ‡ΏπŸ‡¦β›°

Leave a Reply

